Aldermen and school board have new presidents, rules


January 9 — THE COUNCIL OF THE MAYOR and Aldermen and the School Council Committee have new presidents – and new rules – for their 2022-2023 terms.

Following last week’s inaugural ceremonies, aldermen and school board members gathered at Town Hall for organizational meetings.

Pat Long of Ward 3 was the unanimous choice of the new chairman of the board of directors and aldermen. Bill Barry of Ward 10 named Long after the late Ward 9 Alderman Barbara Shaw.

The aldermen also unanimously approved the modifications to the council rules proposed by Long:

—Rule 1 – Regular meetings and Rule 2A Participation of the public. This brings the time for regular board meetings back to 7:00 p.m. and incorporates a provision for public participation in the first 30 minutes of the regular meeting.

—Rule 11 – Voting. This requires all aldermen to vote on all issues, unless they have a personal or financial conflict of interest in accordance with the city charter. It also requires that when an alderman abstains from a vote, he must indicate the conflict or the reason. The rule also prohibits any conflicting board member from participating in the discussion before a vote.

—Rule 19 – Road hearings. This change was made at the request of the prosecutor’s office, in order to maintain consistency with a recently amended state law.

—Renumber all rules to remove the need for subrules, ie 2 and 2A, 16 and 16A, etc. and incorporate rule 20A into rule 20 as they both deal with stopover appointments.

The proposed changes resulted in 28 board rules.

The meeting lasted about four minutes.

On the school board side, James O’Connell and Leslie Want of Ward 4 have both received vice-president appointments. (The mayor chairs the school board.)

O’Connell won the position on a 7-4 vote, with votes from Julie Turner, Ben Dion, Sean Parr, Gary Hamer, Carlos Gonzalez, Peter Argeropoulos and himself. Karen Soule, Nicole Leapley, Chris Potter and Want voted for Want.

Newly elected Ward 6 member Ken Tassey Jr. did not vote and Pete Perich was absent.

Want then proposed that the vote for O’Connell be unanimous, which the board members approved.

Approved changes to school board rules include removing language stating that the board does not traditionally meet in July and removing guidelines requiring board members to submit matters requiring discussion or action by noon on the Tuesday before. the next meeting.

Wording was removed that required that any request involving the compilation of information by school administrators or school board clerk Angela Carey be submitted five days before Tuesday’s deadline.

The aldermen received last week the tasks of their committee for the next term:

—Accounting, registrations and revenue administration: Mary Heath, President; Joe Kelly Levasseur, Kevin Cavanaugh, Barry, Long;

—Administration / Information Systems: Tony Sapienza, President; Will Stewart, Sebastian Sharonov, Norm Gamache, Christine Fajardo;

—Bills at second reading: Gamache, president; Tony Sapienza, Ed Sapienza, Erin George-Kelly, Fajardo;

—Community Improvement: Stewart, President; June Trisciani, Ed Sapienza, Cavanaugh, Heath;

—Finance: Mayor Joyce Craig, President; Levasseur, vice-president; all the aldermen;

—Human Resources / Insurance: Cavanaugh, President; George-Kelly, Sharonov, Barry, Gamache;

—Joint school building: Heath, Trisciani, Levasseur;

—Lands and buildings: long, president; Fajardo, Levasseur, Tony Sapienza, Trisciani;

—Public safety, health and traffic: Barry, president; Long, Stewart, George-Kelly, Sharonov.

Oh, Tannenbaum

The curbside Christmas tree collection in the city will take place the week of January 17th.

Collection takes place on the same day as waste / recycling collection. All ornamentation, including garlands, must be removed and no artificial trees will be accepted.

Residential permit holders can dispose of natural Christmas trees free of charge at the drop-off point at 500 Dunbarton Road at any time of the year.

Lots of parking information

Parking is permitted on the odd-numbered side of the street for January.

The ban on odd / even parking on the street at night in the city remains in force. Where parking is normally permitted on a street, the winter night parking ban allows vehicles to be parked only on the odd-numbered side of a street in odd calendar months and on the even side of a street in even months calendar months between 1h00 and 6h00

Parking allowances are prohibited if a snow emergency has been declared.

No overnight parking is allowed on the circular section of the cul-de-sac.

Fines for overnight winter parking violations are $ 25. After 30 days, the fine increases to $ 50.

For more information on winter parking and snow emergencies, go to

Paul Feely is the Town Hall reporter for the New Hampshire Union Leader and Sunday News. Contact him at [email protected]


Comments are closed.