American Cancer Society Adds Five New Members To Its Board Of Directors


ATLANTA, December 7, 2021 / PRNewswire / – The American Cancer Society (ACS) has appointed five new members to its board of directors, with all terms beginning January 1, 2022.

The ACS Board of Directors consists of 23 members, including five officers and 18 directors. Directors are elected for a two-year term and officers hold office for a one-year term.

“The backgrounds, experience and expertise of our five new Board members will further strengthen the Board’s strong commitment to the American Cancer Society’s mission to help free the world from cancer.” , said Michel Marquardt, 2022 Chairman of the Board. “As we strengthen our focus on health equity, these new board appointments also reflect ACS ‘commitment that racial diversity and gender equality are essential to the effectiveness of our Board of Directors to help improve the quality of life for all cancer patients and their families. ”

Are members of the board of directors:

  • Asif Dhar, MD, MBA – Dr Dhar is Vice President and US Industry Leader in Life Sciences and Healthcare (LSHC) for Deloitte LLP. He leads the overall strategic direction of life sciences and healthcare practices, including audit, advisory, tax and advisory services. He is a respected healthcare leader who works with governments, life sciences and healthcare clients on issues related to health equity, pandemic response and recovery and the future of health. In addition, its expertise in cancer, real world evidence, digital health and innovation is sought after by clients around the world. Among the client relationships he leads, Dr Dhar is responsible for Deloitte’s work for the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA). He is a cancer survivor, has a deep personal passion for tackling oncology issues, and has supported innovative cancer control programs for over 15 years.
  • Wayne AI Frederick, MD, MBA, FACS – Dr. Frederick has been named 17th President of Howard University in 2014. He was previously rector and director of studies. More recently the Howard University The Board of Directors chose Dr. Frederick to serve as Charles R. Drew Distinguished Professor of Surgery, succeeding his mentor, the late Dr. The room D. Leffall, Jr., the first African American president of the American Cancer Society, as the second person appointed to this prestigious position. Dr. Frederick argued Howard University commitment to student opportunities, academic innovation, public service and fiscal stability. He has overseen a range of reform efforts, including expanding university offerings, establishing innovative programs to support student success, and modernizing university facilities. Dr Frederick is the author of numerous peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, abstracts and editorials and is a widely recognized expert on disparities in healthcare and medical education. Her medical research focuses on reducing racial, ethnic and gender disparities in cancer care outcomes, particularly with regard to gastrointestinal cancers.
  • Kathy gallagher, MSN – Ms. Gallagher is Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. She oversees the operations, administration and budgetary performance of a research-intensive university with 10 colleges, four schools, six campuses and a growing global footprint. Ms. Gallagher is responsible for managing the University’s strategic planning process which sets organizational priorities; and coordinates corporate services for the constituents of the University. Additionally, Ms. Gallagher has administrative responsibility for Global Jefferson, including the Office of International Affairs. She sits on several university and business committees, particularly on compliance, budget oversight and capital management. Before joining Thomas Jefferson University, Ms. Gallagher has served as a management consultant to academic medical centers and universities, most recently as Managing Director of the Huron Consulting Group. Ms Gallagher began her career as a nurse in the emergency department at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital.
  • Othman Laraki, MS, MBA – Mr. Laraki is the co-founder and CEO of Color, a healthcare technology company that works with governments, public health institutions, employers and national health initiatives around the world to deliver the preventive and infectious health tools. disease management, including testing, vaccinations and other services. He spent several years at Google, where he worked on performance infrastructure and client-side software, including the Google Chrome browser. After leaving Google, he co-founded MixerLabs, which was acquired by Twitter in 2009. At Twitter, Mr. Laraki was Vice President of Products, helping to create the company’s first revenue products and grow the base. users from 50 to 200 million users. He graduated in computer science and management Stanford University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Mr. Laraki is a long-time investor and advisor to leading companies such as Pinterest, AngelList, Slack and Instacart, and serves on the board of directors of ESI Group and Frontier Medicines.
  • Connie lindsey– Ms Lindsey is the former Executive Vice President and Head of Corporate Social Responsibility and Global Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at Northern Trust, Chicago; she retired in November 2021. She was responsible for the design and implementation of the global strategy for corporate social responsibility, community development and investments, and global diversity, equity and inclusion for Northern Trust and the development of appropriate goals, policies and programs for brand and business unit strategies. Additionally, Ms. Lindsey oversaw and led the company’s response to environmental issues as well as social issues within the market, workplace and community.

Board members Joseph A. Agresta, Jr., Gareth T. Joyce, Jeffrey L. Kean and Gary S. Shedlin will be terminating their service on the 31st of December, 2021.

“We offer our deepest gratitude to the outgoing board members for their dedication and commitment to the life-saving work of the American Cancer Society,” said Jean Alphonse, 2021 Chairman of the Board of Directors.

The following board members have been elected to serve as officers in 2022:

  • Michael T. Marquardt, chair
  • Brian A. Marlow, CFA, Vice-President
  • Mark A. Goldberg, MD, scientific officer
  • Katie A. Eccles, Esq., Secretary Treasurer
  • Jean Alphonse, CPA, CGMA, past president

The members of the Board re-elected in 2022 are:

  • Bruce N. Barron
  • Jennifer R. Crozier
  • Carmen E. Guerra, MD, MSCE, FACP
  • Margaret mccaffery
  • Oyebode Taiwo, MD, MPH

In addition, directors include:
Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD, FASCO
Laura Hertz
Amit Kumar, PhD
Michelle M. LeBeau, PhD
Edison T. Liu, MD
Terri mcclements
Joseph M. Naylor
Robert winn, MD

SOURCE American Cancer Society


Comments are closed.