Rowan Woods elected President of ADG, Partho Sen-Gupta joins Board of Directors as Director


AFTRS director Rowan Woods has been elected as the new chairman of the Australian Directors Guild (ADG) after Samantha Lang put an end to her more than six-year leadership.

Woods burst onto the scene in 1998 with his film debut The boys, which earned him the AFI Award for Best Director and was shortlisted in competition for the Berlinale.

He has since led Little fish, which was nominated for 13 AFI Awards, and an American feature film Fragment, and was the director of the establishment of The Kettering incident – winner of the Special Jury Prize at Series Mania, Paris. Woods also won the ADG Award for Best Director in a Television Movie for The broken shore and made all the series of Rake for the ABC.

The director said he was excited to take on the role at a time when ADG was “more resilient, inclusive and great than ever.”

“The director’s job is to captivate the audience: to make them think, emotionally, intellectually, politically. ADG is our union of directors and our cultural center, ”he said.

“In 2020 and 2021, we have grown like never before with an increase in membership and structural transformation under the formidable presidency of Sam Lang and the arrival of executive Alaric McAusland.

“As a television and feature film director and director of production at AFTRS, I am delighted to continue to serve on ADG’s board of directors as chairman. Our work continues.

Long-time member Partho Sen-Gupta also takes on a new role within the guild, joining the board as a director.

The Sydney-based writer and director started working as an artistic director and production designer on feature films, TV series and commercials in India before directing their first feature film. Let the wind blow in 2004. They followed the selection of the Berlin International Film Festival with Sunrise in 2014, and slam in 2019, both of which were screened at various national and international festivals.

Among other board positions, Nadia Tass was re-elected to another term as vice president of feature films and Jonathan Brough was re-elected to another term as vice president of television.

The board bids farewell to Lang, who is stepping down after 12 years of service, half of which as chairman. During this time, she oversaw the exponential growth in the number and diversity of ADG members, championed the Gender Matters program, and broadened the range of professional development opportunities for ADG members.

“It has been a great honor standing up for Australian directors on all platforms during my tenure,” Lang said.

“I’m leaving at a time when the makeup and structure of the Australian Directors Guild is incredibly strong, and I’m so excited Rowan Woods has agreed to take on the role of chairman of ADG.”


Comments are closed.