Spring 2022 Election Results for Oconto County Council


OCONTO — Former Oconto County Highways Commissioner Pat Scanlan ousted incumbent Diane Nichols from the District 11 seat on the county council, according to unofficial results from the April 5 spring election.

Nichols won Pensaukee City, part of the district, 58-49, but lost in Oconto City, part of the district, 140-71.

Scanlan, 63, served on the City of Oconto board of directors for 37 years, the last 16 as president.

Nichols, 78, a former member of the Oconto school board, was elected in 2012.

A second incumbent in the district, Karl Ballestad, chose not to seek re-election due to a redistricting.

Results not yet available

District 3 – Brandon Dhuey and Frank Nowak, both of Sobieski, face off in one of six districts that were left without an incumbent due to a redistricting. Dhuey, 42, is deputy for Brown County. Nowak, 69, is retired from the financial services field.

District 8 – In another unincumbent district, David Behrend of Oconto Falls and Curt Haffeman of Abrams are vying for the seat. Behrend, 70, who served one term on the board from 2018 to 2020, is a retired utility maintenance worker. Haffeman, 59, is a retired paper mill employee.

District 9 – Incumbents Al Stranz and Jolene Barkhaus of Abrams moved on to the February primary. Stranz, 70, a retired DNR employee, served 10 years on the board. Barkhaus, 59, owns Jo Jo’s Diner in Stiles. Stranz, along with fellow incumbents Leonard Wahl and Fran Wranosky were all placed in this new district as part of the redistricting, but Wranosky opted out of running again, while Wahl was eliminated in the primary the month last.

District 13 – Two write-in candidates were vying for the seat: former Oconto City Councilman John Wittkopf and Cody Henry, 28, a member of the Oconto Fire Department since 2012. Wittkopf, 73, is running also present for a seat at the Oconto. Municipal Council.

District 20 – Keith Schneider of Oconto Falls and Richard Wood of Lena advanced from the February primary to another district without an incumbent. Schneider, 56, operates Schneider Plumbing. Wood, 62, is a retired truck driver who owns a Riverwood Saloon and Campground in the town of Stiles.

District 21 – Incumbent Kenneth Linzmeyer of Lena is challenged by Char Meier of Lena. Linzmeyer, 84, a former trustee and chairman of Lena Village, has served on the council since December 2010. Meier, 66, recently retired after nine years as Lena Village clerk.

District 22 – Holder David Parmentier of Suring and Terry Brazeau of Suring. Brazeau, 67, served four terms on the former District 27 board of directors but was ousted in 2016 by Ryan Wendt of Pound, who did not seek re-election after one term. Parmentier, 61, beat Brazeau in 2018 to succeed Wendt. A second incumbent, President Paul Bednarik, decided not to run.

District 28 – Carol M. Heise of Suring and Richard Vande Wettering of Suring. Heise, 66, retired last year after 25 years as a village clerk in Suring. Vande Wettering has served the Town of Breed Chair for over 17 years. There was no incumbent for the seat due to the redistricting.

Research posts written in 2 districts where no one has filed

Each of the two remaining unincumbent constituencies, in which no one ran, has a written candidate.

District 12 – Richard Pillsbury 75, of Oconto, retired US Army Major.

District 7 – part of the town of Chase, running is Wayne Kaczrowski, 62, of Pulaski. He retired in June after 44 years with Georgia-Pacific in Green Bay.

Unopposed candidates new to or joining the board

Of the remaining seats, two were to be filled by new board members and one by a former board member.

District 4 – Chris Augustine was expected to win. In 2018, he resigned weeks into his third term, saying a new job was taking longer than he had expected.

District 17 – Joel Lavarda, 62, of Oconto Falls, retired from Georgia-Pacific in 2021.

District 23 – Robert Wolf, 75, retired independent truck driver from Oconto Falls.

These will be the first elected positions for Lavarda and Wolf.

Holders without opposition

District 1 – Elmer Ragen of Suamico, who served one term from 1986 to 1988, and was re-elected again in 2000.

District 2 – Theresa Willems of Sobieski, appointed last April to fill a vacancy, and is seeking her first full term.

District 5 – Guy Gooding of Sobieski, who served five terms ending in 2016 and was re-elected again in 2020.

District 6 – Dennis Kroll of Pulaski, first elected in 2004.

District 10 – Tim Cole of Abrams, who was appointed to the board in November 2018 and elected to his first term in 2020.

District 14 – Al Schreiber of Oconto, first elected in 2018.

District 15 – John Matravers of Oconto, first elected in 2018.

District 16 – Tom Bitters of Lena, who was nominated in June 2020 and is seeking his first full term.

District 18 – Stephanie F. Holman of Oconto Falls, who was elected in 2018.

District 19 – Bart Schindel of Oconto Falls, first elected in 2018.

District 24 – Tracy Ondik of Gillett, first elected in 2020.

District 25 – Gary Frank of Gillett, first elected in 2014.

District 26 – Doug McMahon of Suring, who was elected in 2012.

District 27 – Alan Sleeter of Suring, first elected in 2006.

District 29 – Judy Buhrandt of Mountain, first elected in 2014.

District 30 – Don Bartels Jr., serving since July 2015.

District 31 – David Christianson of Townsend, first elected in 2012.

FOR MORE OCONTO COUNTY NEWS:Check out our website!

Contact Kent Tempus at (920) 431-8226 or [email protected].


Comments are closed.