The Senate confirms the members of the EFCC board of directors


The Nigerian Senate on Tuesday adopted a report from its Committee on Combating Corruption and Financial Crimes for the confirmation of candidates for the positions of board members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

After the committee chairman, Senator Suleiman Abdu Kwari, who also represented the North Kaduna Senate District, read the report, the contributing senators congratulated the committee for the low-profile investigation of the candidates.

Senator Jibrin Barau expressed his view in favor of the report, given that there was no controversy behind the candidates.

Ahead of the public debate, the committee chair indicated that the candidates made themselves available and were scrutinized in accordance with the committee’s mandate, while urging senators to approve the candidates.

“That the Senate receive and consider the report of the Committee on the fight against corruption and financial crimes on the confirmation of the candidates,” he said.

After contributions on the need for the EFCC to have a board of directors in place to strengthen the agency’s activities, Senate Vice-President Ovie Omo-Agege gave voice to the report and was adopted.

The following nominees have been confirmed.

1. George Abang Ekungu – Secretary of the Commission
2. Luqman Muhammed – Member of the Board
3. Anumba Adaeze – Member of the Board
4. Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina – Board Member
5. Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad – member of the board of directors.

Source link


Comments are closed.